No items found.

The Curriculum in Year 9 and Year 10

Students in Years 9 and 10 experience a wide range of learning, across the curriculum so they will have plenty of choices available to them in the senior school.

Courses in Year 9 and 10

Students choose 10 courses that cover all 8 Learning Areas. 

The Learning Areas are:

  • Ngā Toi/The Arts
  • Ingarihi/English
  • Akoranga Kōiri me Te Hauora/PE&Health
  • Ngā Reo/Languages
  • Pāngarau/Maths
  • Pūtaiao/Science
  • Tikanga-ā-Iwi/Social Studies
  • Hāngarau/Technology.

Intensive courses - are courses that cover one Learning Area in depth e.g. Tikanga-ā-Iwi/Social Studies. 

Connected courses - are courses that connect the learning across two Learning Areas, e.g. Eco Warriors integrates learning from Pūtaiao/Science and Tikanga-ā-Iwi

Focus Line courses - are extra short courses about things you need to know. At Year 9 this includes Literacy, Numeracy, Computational thinking for Digital Technology and Aotearoa NZ Histories.

The 10 courses can be a mixture of Intensive and Connected Curriculum courses. For more detailed information on these courses please see the Junior Course Booklet 2024.