No items found.

National Qualifications

The National Certificate of Educational Achievement

Students can work towards gaining credits in Achievement Standards and Unit Standards for NCEA certificates. Each subject assesses against standards and each subject usually offers between 18 and 24 credits.

There are three NCEA qualifications students work to gain at Wellington East Girls College -  Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3. 

  • NCEA LEVEL 1 Requirements:80 credits. Ten of these credits must be in literacy standards and ten credits in numeracy standards. 
  • NCEA LEVEL 2 Requirements:60 credits at Level 2 or above; plus 20 credits at any Level, even if gained for any other National Qualification.
  • NCEA LEVEL 3 Requirements:60 credits at Level 3 or above; plus 20 credits at Level 2 or above, even if gained for any other National Qualification.

Credits can come from both Achievement Standards and Unit Standards. 

Each subject Information Booklet details which Standards are assessed, together with their credit value.

In addition to gaining the credits towards the NCEA, each Achievement Standard can be gained at three levels of success: Achieved, Merit or Excellence

NCEA certificates can be gained with Merit or Excellence endorsements.

To find out more about NCEA check out the NZQA website:

The Student Assessment Information Booklet has more NCEA information and also outlines the WEGC Assessment Policies and Procedures

University Entrance: 

University Entrance is the minimum requirement for entrance to study in a University in New Zealand. 

For more information please check out the NZQA website:

We encourage students and their families to explore what different University entrance requirments are as they will differ between universities.